Installing Debian on NAND (Somebody PLEASE help me!)

Started by khashmeshab, July 29, 2014, 07:49:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

khashmeshab

Hello everybody.

I am new to this forum. But I am an experienced FreeBSD and Linux sysadmin. Also I am a programmer and software developer for almost 20 years. This problem drove me crazy. Here it is:

I have this 7-inch tablet based on A13 for 2 years. About a year ago, the touch-screen broke and instead of repairing it, I thought I use its ARM board as my home server. It was a good choice since it draws a little power, has battery, has 4GB NAND, WiFi, 512MB RAM, etc.

So I downloaded the ready-to-use Debian image from here: https://www.olimex.com/wiki/A13-OLinuXino and wrote it to a 8GB SD card. The Linux booted without any problem and recognized all of the hardware including NAND. Except that it was so slow since it was running from SD.

Then I followed the online manual about re-partitioning the NAND using nand-part and created a 16M boot partition starting from 16M and the rest for my root partition. I kept the existing android u-boot and other contents of nanda. Then I copied all of the contents of the SD card partition #2 to the nandb (using cp -a). Plus I copied uImage and script.bin from the SD card partition #1 to everywhere including nanda/, nanda/linux/, nandb/ and nanb/boot/.

BUT IT DOESN'T BOOT FROM NAND! I tried everything. Even using other u-boot.bin's I downloaded from other sites. Please somebody give me a clue. What is wrong? I would be very thankful if somebody guide me and I will be more than happy to give any more information needed.

Thank you all very much in advance.

khashmeshab

OK. Since nobody helped me so far (thank you very much!) I managed to boot from NAND by myself with one exception.